The Highwaymen

Sony Music announces the release of The Highwaymen (Original Score from the Netflix Film), with music by Grammy, Emmy and BAFTA Award-winning composer Thomas Newman, whose scoring credits include American Beauty, Six Feet Under, Skyfall, Finding Nemo and more. Available Friday, March 29, the soundtrack features music from Netflix's newest original film, starring Kevin Costner, Woody Harrelson and Kathy Bates – available exclusively on Netflix Friday, March 29.

Of the soundtrack, composer Thomas Newman says: "The Highwaymen is already steeped in the perfume of the south. The desolate, dry landscapes of Texas and Oklahoma. Ringgold Road in Louisiana where Frank Hamer and Maney Gault finally catch up with Bonnie and Clyde and where everything ends. The music leans towards local flavor on the one hand, and a tense, personal psychology on the other. Foot stomps, knee slaps. Steel-wound and nylon string guitars. Country fiddle. Waltz rhythms, square rhythms. All tumbling towards an inevitable, unsettling conclusion in Depression-era America, 1934."


Thomas Newman is an American composer and is widely acclaimed as one of today’s most prominent composers for film, having scored more than 80 film and television projects, earning 14 Oscar nominations and 6 Grammy Awards. Born in Los Angeles, his father was notable film composer Alfred Newman (1900-1970). He studied composition and orchestration at USC, and completed his academic work at Yale University. He early mentors included the noted film composer David Raksin, and legendary Broadway composer Stephen Sondheim.

A turning point in Newman’s career took place while he was working as a musical assistant on the 1984 film Reckless, for which he ultimately was promoted to the position of composer. Since then, he has contributed distinctive and evocative scores to numerous acclaimed films including Desperately Seeking Susan, The Lost Boys, The Rapture, Fried Green Tomatoes, The Player, Scent of a Woman, Flesh and Bone, The Shawshank Redemption, Little Women, American Buffalo, The People Vs. Larry Flynt, Oscar and Lucinda, The Horse Whisperer, Meet Joe Black, American Beauty, The Green Mile, Erin Brockovich, In The Bedroom, Road to Perdition, Finding Nemo, Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events, Cinderella Man, Jarhead, Little Children, The Good German, Revolutionary Road and Wall-E.

His most recent projects include The Debt, The Adjustment Bureau, The Help, The Iron Lady, The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, Skyfall, Spectre, Side Effects, Saving Mr. Banks, The Judge, Finding Dory, Passengers and Steven Spielberg’s Bridge of Spies. Newman also composed the music for HBO’s acclaimed 6-hour miniseries Angels in America directed by Mike Nichols.

He received an Emmy Award for his theme for the HBO original series Six Feet Under.

01 Ford V-8 Deluxe (Main Title)  3:39
02 Eastham Prison Farm  1:21
03 Bonnie and Clyde  2:03
04 Ain't She Fun  2:05
05 16 Bullets  1:04
06 Maney Gault  1:51
07 Coffeyville  1:28
08 Red Beans & Cabbage  0:54
09 Across Texas  2:21
10 Into Oklahoma  1:34
11 Laudanum  1:55
12 Bass Man Jive Ocie Stockard and His Wanderers)  2:33
13 West Dallas Viaduct  3:15
14 Bottle Boy  1:19
15 Pump Jockey  1:39
16 The Other Fifty  2:13
17 Bad Seed  4:34
18 Billy Mace  1:10
19 Dope for the Girl  5:09
20 Afraid To Dream (From "You Can't Have Everything") (Benny Goodman and His Orchestra)  2:42
21 Easter Morning  1:38
22 Metal Man  1:44
23 Candelaria  5:26
24 Bienville Parish, LA  2:37
25 Cement City  1:41
26 Ringgold Road  4:09
27 The Shame of Arcadia  4:02
28 Terrible Gift  2:57
29 The Highwaymen (End Title)  6:29
Total: 75:32

The Highwaymen Soundtrack image